An Engineer’s Oath

I don’t know if me, myself, have become an engineer or not. I’d like to think that I’m is one of them, an engineer. Then, let’s look at an engineer’s oath I found here,

  1. I solemnly pledge myself to consecrate my life to the service of humanity.
  2. I will give to my teachers the respect and gratitude which is their due;
  3. I will be loyal to the profession of engineering and just and generous to its members;
  4. I will lead my life and practice my profession in uprightness and honor;
  5. Whatever project I shall undertake, it shall be for the good of mankind to the utmost of my power;
  6. I will keep far away from wrong, from corruption, and from tempting others to vicious practice;
  7. I will exercise my profession solely for the benefit of humanity and perform no act for a criminal purpose, even if solicited, far less suggest it;
  8. I will speak out against evil and unjust practice wheresoever I encounter it;
  9. I will not permit considerations of religion, nationality, race, party politics, or social standing to intervene between my duty and my work;
  10. Even under threat, I will not use my professional knowledge contrary to the laws of humanity;
  11. I will endeavour to avoid waste and the consumption of non-renewable resources.
  12. I make these promises solemnly, freely, and upon my honor.

If you look at it, then you see a big big (and I mean very big) responsibility here. We an engineer have the power of knowledge and power to create, to make things. And let me tell you one thing my friend, those kind power is awesome. So cherish it, don’t let it rot and eat out your dreams. Be a true engineer.

One Comment

  1. rahmat
    Posted Maret 19, 2010 at 6:48 am | Permalink | Balas

    ini siapa yg ngerumusin yah? apa di PII ada ikrarnya kek begini juga? hihihi.

Tinggalkan Balasan

